What is JEE Mains and Advanced?

With the change in pattern of entrance exam for IIT JEE and other related engineering colleges examinations, the new pattern is termed as JEE Mains and JEE advanced.

Who can appear for JEE Main 2013?

  • Students clearing Class XII by CBSE and State Board
  • Students clearing Joint Service Wings (2 yr.) National Defence Academy.
  • 2-year Intermediate Exams by Recognized Board or University
  • SSC exam organized by National Open School
  • Exam conducted by State Board of Technical Education or AICTE


JEE Mains

Previously known as the AIEEE exam, all students appearing for the undergraduate programs for engineering at various NIT, IIIT and IIT have been combined into one qualifying examination. It is the compulsory eligibility test for the JEE Advanced which is specifically for joining the IITs. The qualifying scores are:


Category                               Qualifying marks

Common Merit List                        113

Scheduled Tribe                             45

Scheduled Castes                          50

OBC                                                   70


JEE Advanced

This is the specific qualifying examination for joining the IITs and only the top 1, 50, 000 students that have cleared the JEE Mains are allowed to sit for it. The number includes general and other ST, OBC category as per the relevant reservation policy. Crunching the numbers, top 75,750 students are selected from the general category while the top performers of the other reserved category will number 74,250 students.

To qualify for the JEE Advanced, only the marks obtained in the preliminary JEE Mains will be considered and admissions to IIT and ISMU Dhanbad shall be based only on All India Rank given in JEE Advanced.